HGH & FMS Experiment

Where Human Growth Hormone Meets Fibromyalgia

7/22/2004

Posted by Thumper on February 3, 2007

Ok. I’ve had 3 doses of synthroid and have magically dropped 2 pounds.
Coincidence?
Perhaps…

I started the growth hormone injections about a year and 3 months ago. Longer than the doc thought I would stick with it, I think. He made a point of telling me that most of his adult patients who try it get tired of the daily injections after 6 months and stop. I think maybe they didn’t have the physical motivation.

This has been tumbling through my mind lately. When I started this, I think I was walking in the pool for about 25-30 minutes a day, 3 days a week. Once in a great while I’d work up to a good run, but not as often as I’d like. It doesn’t seem like it took very long for me to run in the water–at a good clip–for longer than 30 minutes, and the swimming just followed naturally. I went to 45 minutes in the pool, combining running and swimming, to just swimming (nonstop) for a full hour, several days a week.

These days I’m working out 5 days a week, doing Boot Camp aerobics (that’s YMCA-speak for “We’re Going To Torture You) and a Hi-Lo Impact Class that combines weight training with cardio work; it’s a 90 minute class and I follow it with half an hour in the pool. I may be adding a 6th day to my routine next week, when the Y re-adds a cardio kickboxing class to the schedule (taught by the same woman who does the Boot Camp class; she’s good, but her class is a workout; I’d been going to her kickboxing class for a couple of weeks before it got canceled…) It’s tiring and I have post-exertional aches and pains, but it’s evident that’s what they are–just the after effects of a good, hard workout.

This might not be important in the grand scheme of things, at least not to anyone but myself. But I do still have FMS–I get reminders of that every now and then–but my pain levels remain consistenly low, and my physical abilities have inched forward every week. While I’m certainly not in the shape I was in 10-12 years ago, I’m doing a hell of a lot better (and face it, I was in my 30s then and am in my 40s now.)

The gains have certainly motivated me to not stop taking it. After all, it’s a tiny needle and the little pinch one feels from it is a lot better than the pains of not using it at all…

Leave a Reply

 
